Still alive! Yes! I think the only people more amazed that me about this fact, are my parents.

To start, I would like to apologize for the brevity of my last post. I had 10 minutes in a library while Pokey Pokey waited in the rented car. I did not get to say as much as I would have liked, but will hopefully remedy that through this post. I am writing from Franklin, North Carolina.

That’s right! I made it through all of Georgia and crossed my first state line.  Woo hoo!  I honored this moment on the trail with a Snickers, or what I like to call “Manna from Heaven.” Franklin is also 107.6 miles into the trail which means I crossed my first major mileage milestone.

Perhaps against better judgment I got to Franklin by hitch-hiking, riding in the back of a pick-up loaded with empty beer cans, cigarette butts and shell casings.  Judging by the vehicle’s mud coating, I am sure the driver had been doing doughnuts at the dump just that morning. Ahhhh, gotta love the South. Fortunately, I am very familiar with riding in the back of pick-ups through the back hills of North Carolina (thank you Pops and Susan Dart) and can not imagine a more natural means of transportation. I am taking what hikers call a zero day tomorrow meaning zero miles gained, which my body needs after 12 days of hiking without rest and some nights without sleep. Now to the trail:

After Leaving Pokey Pokey, Ahab (Alex) and I decided to stick together, hiking the next few days. He was a great companion and together we covered a lot of ground. The first day, on the way to the summit of Mt. Tray, we ran into a fellow thru-hiker, Thor; and Peanut, a man who lives out of his truck in the backwoods of Georgia, usually scaring thru-hikers, but who today was handing out free beers, which I preferred. Ahab and I became close friends and hiked 16 miles the next day until our bodies gave out and we could barely set up our tents- in fact Ahab didn’t. “For being one of the worst days of my life, it sure is amazing,” he said and I couldn’t agree more. It turns out Ahab is an ex-actor from L.A., having posed as a husband on one of those reality home-makeovers shows after the original couple split up. He has also run with the bulls in Pamplona, and is opening his own rock climbing gym: one of his favorite hobbies despite his overwhelming fear of heights. He is truly a remarkable person which made it very difficult to say goodbye the next day as he was only section hiking. I will miss his company terribly, but am glad to have made a good friend on the Appalachian Trail.

After no sleep due to bad weather, I hiked 20 miles to try to catch up. I don’t know how, but for some reason I ended up a day behind a big group of hikers and a day ahead of another group and was frustrated being in the “gap.” That night I caught up with thru-hikers, Y2K, C-Bass, Mary Poppins and many more who have all been together since April 1st but who had passed me much earlier. Late arrivals that night included two conservative Jews who lit candles and said a prayer for Shabbat and even though it was late and their worship was happening not one foot from my tent, it was oddly calming and I slept better that night than any other.

It’s inspiring that these men would endure the extra weight of candles and yamakas for their beliefs.  Also these men are not young guys, in fact, most of the people out here are grandparents who tell me their kids are worried sick. I am usually the youngest in any group by many years, but by no means better advantaged because of age. I passed a 71 year old man the other day and when I asked if he was going to Maine replied, “I wouldn’t dare answer that question at 71,” but made it clear Maine was his intended destination.

I want to say thank you to everyone who wished me a “Happy Birthday” and sent me well wishes for the hike. This hike is really, really hard physically and emotionally, believe it or not, and it makes it easier to keep going knowing I have your love and support. So thank you so much again. I also wanted to mention that my friend Kate Klonick will be editing this blog to keep my grammar in check. She is currently a speech writer for Merrill Lynch and having worked for Esquire, the ABCNews.com and many other publications is an invaluable asset to me, and a bright young talent to the world of journalism. Her website is listed under my blog roll.

I may not be writing for a while as I am about to head into the Smokies one of the more challenging parts of the trail without any chance of communication with civilization.  Best wishes to all

Newt – GAME ’08

Trail Humor…

Thor: What’s pink and rolls down hills?

Peanut: Ex-Wives?

Thor: No, a blue triangle!!